Spoon 7 of 52 – The Long Wavy Tea Spoon in Silver Birch.

image

Usually I am obsessed with drawing out the spoon and making it as symmetrical as possible.  I tried a different approach on this one.

Whilst splitting some fire wood the other night I noticed a split with a lovely curve and bulbous knot, looked like perfect spoon material.

So for this one I didn’t draw anything. I just got my knife and went with the flow of the grain and knots in the wood – not letting myself to get obsessed with the symmetry or the small details.

The head nearly cracked off because there’s and knot running right through it. Instead, there’s a little hole in the bottom, good for draining tea bags maybe.

Think I’ll stick to my usual approach for most of my future spoons but pretty happy with the result.

One thought on “Spoon 7 of 52 – The Long Wavy Tea Spoon in Silver Birch.

  1. Pingback: 52 Spoons – Making a Spoon for Each Week of 2015 – Project Round up | Chris Mount

Leave a Reply

