Spoon 21 of 52 – The Coffee Paddle in Aspen

I made this one whilst on a recent paddling trip on lahnajärvi lake in central Finland. As we were on the water I thought it would make something canoe or kayak related. I was originally going to try to make a canoe spoon, but thought it might get a bit complicated. I decided to use our tutor’s paddle as a rough guide, making a miniature spoon-paddle replica.

I always thought aspen was quite a hard wood, but it turns out it is quite soft, not ideal when the spoon is so thin! As it was so small it was proper fiddly to make at times and I thought I was definitely going to snap it by accident. Quite a nice one to make though – spent a couple of evenings carving it by the fire, looking over the lake.

There’s a couple of photos below showing the carving process.

IMG_8845 IMG_8847 IMG_8849 IMG_8850 IMG_8853 IMG_8854 IMG_8855

One thought on “Spoon 21 of 52 – The Coffee Paddle in Aspen

Leave a Reply

