September Microadventure – A Last Minute One in the Woods

IMAG0011

Following suit from the previous month’s night sleeping wild, I slept out on the last day of the month. I hastily stashed my things in my bag, grabbed some warm clothes and headed to the woods. I borrowed the infra-red camera from work – which we use for taking photos of wildlife – in the hope something might walk straight past me whilst I was sleeping – it didn’t. It was a clear night so I didn’t bother with a bivvi bag, and just took the sleeping bag, which I regret, as although calm, the slight breeze went straight through the side of the bag. Ignore the temperature it says on the photo, I am not sure what it was, but it certainly wasn’t 23 degrees!

Despite the cold I slept well and it was an atmospheric night. I fell asleep to the hoots of distant owls, the crunching of leaves under animal foot and then woke up in sheer terror to the squawk of an owl in the tree right above me. After dozing for a bit, dawn ebbed into morning and I woke as my surroundings re-saturated, changing from pallid greys to subtle greens and browns. I was chilly so got up quickly and walked home in the morning light.

IMAG0025 IMAG0077

One thought on “September Microadventure – A Last Minute One in the Woods

  1. Pingback: December Microadventure – In The Back Garden – And Yearly Round-Up | Chris Mount

Leave a Reply

