Spoon 42 of 52 – The Mini Ladle in Green Oak

IMG_8956

I helped to clear some oak branches a few weeks ago and noticed a crooked one which had a ladle written all over it. I used the natural bend in the branch to create the ladle shape. But, I am slightly frustrated as I have lost many of the photos I took of the carving process. But from the ones below you can see the progress from about half way. It started as a fresh branch, no bigger than the thickness of my wrist. Pretty risky as when this spoon dries it may well crack. But it worked well, and as the wood was still green it was soft compared to seasoned oak.

I went quite freestyle on this one, I still drew out a rough spoon shape, but wan’t too fussed in keeping it symmetrical and just went with the wood. The strength of the wood even at the thinnest part is ridiculous – oak is a wonderful material to work with.

IMAG8689 IMAG8690 IMAG8691 IMAG8695 IMAG8696

IMG_8952 IMG_8958 IMG_8950

One thought on “Spoon 42 of 52 – The Mini Ladle in Green Oak

  1. Pingback: 52 Spoons – Making a Spoon for Each Week of 2015 – Project Round up | Chris Mount

Leave a Reply

