Spoon 45 of 52 – The One Hour Spoon in Yew

IMG_9102

I have been meaning to try this for a while – The one hour spoon. I’m not being completely honest with you though, I actually took 1 hour 3 minutes and 50 seconds to make this spoon. Over the last 11 months my whittling has improved a lot, but the speed at which I make these spoons is still slow. I knew a spoon in an hour would be tough for me, it would be especially hard not to get caught up in the small details, trying to get them right. It wasn’t easy, and in between frantic axe work and hasty whittling I am surprised I didn’t stab myself. It also made me realised I need to get another hook knife or two, this would have been a much quicker and precise way to carve the scoop, rather than using a small chisel.

The ocd side of me sees it as unfinished, and the more relaxed side of me sees it as characterful. In ways it is not finished well, it isn’t sanded, the workmanship on the spoon head is poor, it’s rough around the edges, has a faceted underside to the spoon head, is wonky and miss-cut in many places and a dangerously thin neck – all elements that would probably be missing if I had made it more slowly.

I made it from the same batch of yew that my Granddad gave to me a few months ago – an amazing wood to work with. If the knife is sharp enough a smooth waxy finish is created without the need for further treatment.

Process IMG_9096 IMG_9095 IMG_9106 IMG_9099 together IMG_9097 IMG_9103

One thought on “Spoon 45 of 52 – The One Hour Spoon in Yew

  1. Pingback: 52 Spoons – Making a Spoon for Each Week of 2015 – Project Round up | Chris Mount

Leave a Reply

