What Scares Me About Swimming the Thames

IMAG9526

Scaring myself seems to be a large part of why I undertake physical endurance challenges. The Thames Swim is my third large endurance challenge, and just like the others, the same fears are present.

Currently the fears are not that omnipresent in my conscious mind, they just pop in occasionally to say hello. But when they do, rather than running away from them, it makes sense to approach them head on and use them as fuel for the fire, to encourage me to keep going. After all, if I had listened to them I wouldn’t have even attempted it.

In no particular order my fears for the swim are:

  • Will I make it?
  • Will I get injured?
  • Will the injury stop me from completing the challenge?
  • Am I training to hard?
  • Am I training enough?
  • Should I stretch more?
  • Am I eating enough?
  • Will enough be raised for charity?
  • Will I be able to organise it successfully?
  • Will I have enough money to do it?
  • Will I be able to cope with being in the water for 6 – 8 hours a day?
  • Will I get seriously ill from the dirty water?
  • Will I make it in 2 weeks?

Looking at all these written down makes me feel slightly crazy. But, these are just natural thoughts to taking on something unknown, thoughts that could have quite easy led me to give up before the first step.

So why am I doing it?

  • To challenge myself
  • I enjoy doing these things
  • To see if I can do it
  • To learn more about myself in tough physical and mental situations
  • Because I have an aching desire to do these things whilst I can
  • I have wanted to swim the length of a river for a while
  • To raise some money for charity
  • For the adventure
  • Because it’s there
  • For the unknown
  • It literally petrifies me

Will I make it? Who knows… But, I will give it my absolute all and although I am nervous I am also friggin excited for the adventure that ensues, so bring it on!

“Do one thing every day that scares you”
Baz Luhrmann – Everybody’s Free

3 thoughts on “What Scares Me About Swimming the Thames

  1. Well done Chris -keep going! We had much admiration for you, sat in the comfort of our hired river cruiser Avalon V. (The couple with three teenagers ). We are now back home after four glorious days on the Thames but will be thinking of you and your amazing challenge. Hopefully you will be an inspiration to our children to push themselves harder. Do you have a just giving page? Kate, Kevin, Emily, Will, Amy and Lottie the spotty dog X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Chris

    Thanks for your card I like to know how you are doing. Will you send me something to show me the place were you are working and I would like to see the dogs. Marie has been on a dog sledge when she went to Norway she says she enjoyed it . It would have been nice to see you but I’m pleased that you are happy with what you are doing.

    WE BOTH WISH A VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS [🎅] GRANDAD

    ________________________________

    Like

Leave a Reply

