Swimming the Thames – Daily Diary Entry – Day 03

BLOG POST – DAY 03 – 15.13.2016

Started: 10:15
Finished: 18:15
Swimming Time: 5.5hrs
Daily Distance: 15km – 600 Lengths of a 25m Pool
Total distance: 33km – 1320 Lengths


09:02 AM – Day 03 is about to begin. Just driving over now. Starting from tenfoot bridge.. aptly named. No road access, so will paddle there from the trout at tadpole bridge and jump out at tenfold bridge to start the day. First long day of many at 17km.

Couple of pics from yesterday. Bottom left is my food for today… Around 6,800 calories made up of 14 High 5 energy gels, 14 bananas and 14 Meridian Foods nut bars. Seems like a ridiculous amount… But am burning around 7000 calories swimming, so almost hitting it. Finding what works today and will adjust.

Slight shoulder ache today, but the sun is shining and the weather is sweet so let’s get on with it. 🏊🏊


23:14 PM – Day 03 – Tenfoot Bridge to Just gone Pink Hill Lock

First longer day at just over 15km. My longest ever swim! We kayaked from The Trout pub to tenfoot bridge, to start where we finished the day before (as there was no road access). It felt wrong being in the kayak, and my legs ached after the 20 minute paddle.

It was another scorcher of a day, and I’m developing one of the worst tan lines. The river is growing, in width and depth, and now all I see through my goggles is green abyss. With each breath I see glimpses of the changing surroundings, bushes and reeds, trees, occasional birds, blues skies and a white bright sun, beautiful houses, stone bridges, boats, people sat outside the pub. It’s quite an isolated world, and as today I had my ear plugs this was emphasized. This definitely helps with getting into a good rhythm though, it’s quite easy to switch off.

My stroke felt pretty good all day, I’ve been experimenting with some different leg kick options and this seems to be helping hugely, taking the strain off my arms.

We kept to the same routine food-wise, and stopped every 30 mins. Josh disinfectant my lips with alcohol gel (glamrous I know – not sure he knew what he signed up for), then I’d swill my mouth out with water to get rid of any nasties. We are trying our best to reduce the risk of me getting Thames tummy. After being sterilised I’d eat an energy gel, a banana and a nut bar. These breaks have been taking around 4-5 minutes, much longer than the suggested 15 seconds. But the water is so warm, there is no need to keep it fast, and it gives me a good break between swims. We hit the food just about right and felt like I still had some reserves in the tank.

After each hour I do 5mins of backstroke to work the muscles the opposite way.

Overall a good, but tiring day. Our after swim/kayak routine is getting better, but still needs some work.. after a long day mine and Josh’s brain function is definitely questionable which slows things down

Getting into bed now and entering Oxford tomorrow. I’ll be getting in between 1 – 3, so keep an eye out 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

