Swimming the Thames – Daily Diary Entry – Day 06

BLOG POST – DAY 06 – 18.13.2016

Started: 10:05
Finished: 17:00 ish
Swimming Time: Not sure… 
Daily Distance: 13km – 520 Lengths
Total Distance: 79.25km – 3150 Lengths


Day 06 – Clifton Bridge to Wallingford

Oh my flipping hell!! Today was the hardest yet. Stopped earlier than planned as there’s a physio here in Wallingford, and it felt like the right decision. Huge huge huge thanks for Dave who came down and swam with me, I’m not sure I could have done it without you buddy, you really pulled me along. It was his longest ever swim also – he is swimming Lake Windemere in 3 weeks time – A Swim to Remember. And for Dave who stood on the bank and cheered me on with Orryn.. And to Dave who kayaked with me… Lots of Daves today. Not forgetting Josh and my dad, thanks for all the support today and throughout, I wouldn’t be able to do it without you.

I changed my routine up a bit today to work different muscle groups. This is because my muscles are tired in specific front crawl places, because of this my breaststroke is now the same speed. This was my routine today.

30mins front crawl
– 5mins food break
15mins breast stroke
15 front crawl
– 5min break
5min backstroke
10mins breaststroke
15 mins crawl…

Then repeat.

I wasn’t feeling right for the second portion of the day, feeling bit sickly.. I thought the illness feeling was just a sign of physical exhaustion. After finishing the day I couldn’t get anything down, which is unlike me. And, also I wasn’t able to really eat much on the last hour of the swim.

I was just waiting in the pub with Kayaker Dave and as we left I had to sprint back to the toilets and just made it to the loo where I preceded to chuck up my guts. Oh man, I feel so much better for it now… Is it full blown Thames Tummy or will it go? Will just play it by ear and see. Fingers crossed this is the worst of it. Still feeling good an hour or so after, will see how the food sits once I’m back.

Other than that feeling (relatively) good – I’m a 6 out of 10 I’d say (we’ve been using this number system to quickly relay how things are going to Josh – 10 being on top of the world and 1 being almost dead. Relieved I’ve got day 6 under the belt. Woo! Now time for food and sleep.

Leave a Reply

