52 Spoons – Making a Spoon for Each Week of 2015 – Project Round up

looking up dark to white

A few weeks ago I completed my New Year’s Resolution for 2015 – to make a spoon for each week of the year. This was by far the best new year’s resolution I had ever done. I can’t even remember any of the previous ones.

I had carved around 3-4 spoons before starting this project, so I knew the basics, but I was still a novice. I made all the spoons using hand tools only – an axe, a carving knife, a hook knife, some chisels, sand paper and oils. I did this because I wanted to improve my knife skills and wood working ability, it meant I could work on the project wherever I was and partly because I didn’t have access to any machinery or power tools.

front view in pile

The fact that I was making one spoon per week helped me stick to the resolution, rather than giving up or losing interest. Making one a week was a challenge for me, and I fell behind schedule a few times, but, if I made enough time to carve I would produce a spoon.

IMG_0352

I have never done an activity that completely removes you from your surroundings in such a way as whittling. I found myself looking at my watch realising I had been whittling for 2-3 hours when it had only felt like 30 minutes or so. Often I would go into this ‘flow’ state of mind as some people call it. It’s a therapeutic and meditative activity that I would recommend to anyone.


What did I take from the year other than 52 spoons?

Patience. Whittling a spoon is a process that goes hand in hand with patience. In a strange way, the more patient you are, the quicker the spoon is usually made.

You can never rush a spoon. Following on from the previous point, you can’t rush a spoon. There were a few occasions where I was in a rushed mood and just wanted to get the spoon finished for the week and often I would either cut myself or break the spoon.

Dexterity and hand skills. I can now handle and axe and knife better than I ever could, and I feel like I have picked up an important life skill.

Appreciation. Of people who make things out of wood, especially by traditional means. And of trees, they are bloody fascinating

Knowledge. Of how to carve a selection of different woods and carving techniques.

Routine & Focus. The benefit of a good routine became apparent to me. I’m not saying you should live your life like an army sergeant is breathing down your neck, but I found that having this weekly routine of mine was a real focus.


all in a lineSo, all in all a really fulfilling new years resolution, that has taught me an awful lot. I now also have 52 spoons, of which many I am selling. There’s one photo of each spoon below.

If you are interested in buying a spoon they are all £20 + shipping costs. (There are several spoons that are cheaper, check the text below the image). I will give £10 from each spoon to charity, which will go towards fundraising for my upcoming adventure later in the year, more on this soon.

Firstly email me with the spoon number you’d like and you’re address, and I will confirm the order. I can post worldwide. Once I have confirmed, send funds to my paypal using the same email, which is: mountchris@hotmail.co.uk. Once funds are received I will post the spoon out.

I will update the post when each spoon has been sold. Check the text under the photos to see whether it is available.

Happy spooning 🙂

standar view

Spoon 01 of 52 – Stirring Spoon in Curly Birch – SOLD

Week 2

Spoon 02 of 52 – The Wiggly Snail Shell Sugar Spoon in Silver Birch Heart Wood – SOLD

IMG_20150114_092036

Spoon 03 of 52 – The Long Thin Slightly Bent Spice Spoon in Birch – SOLD

Week 4

Spoon 04 of 52 – The Little Coffee Scoop in Curly Birch – SOLD

Spoon 5

Spoon 5 of 52 – The Long Bucket Shaped Sweet Shovel in Birch – SOLD

Week 6 spoon B

Spoon 6 of 52 – The Weird Pointy Yogurt Spoon in Spruce – SOLD

wpid-si_20150214_142738.jpeg

Spoon 7 of 52 – The Long Wavy Tea Spoon in Silver Birch – SOLD

SI_20150221_131809

Spoon 8 of 52 – The Little Love Ladel in Juniper – SOLD

Spoon 9 b

Spoon 9 of 52 – The Three Way Spice Holder in Curly Birch – SOLD

wpid-img_20150309_000640.jpg

Spoon 10 of 52 – The Sand Scoop in Silver Birch – SOLD

Spoon 11 of 52

Spoon 11 of 52 – The Left Handed Fishfood Feeder in Grey Alder – SOLD

wpid-spoon-12.jpg.jpeg

Spoon 12 of 52 – The Shaken Not Stirred Olive Spoon in Scots Pine – £10 + postage – SOLD

Spoon 13

Spoon 13 of 52 – The ‘Looks Like a Leaf’ Scoop in Silver Birch Heart Wood – SOLD

Spoon 14

Spoon 14 of 52 – The Three Bears’ Porridge Spoon in Norwegian Spruce – SOLD

Spoon 15

Spoon 15 of 52 – The Spikey Ice Scraper Spoon in Silver Birch Heart Wood

wpid-img_20150427_000356.jpg

Spoon 16 of 52 – The Stew Stirrer in Grey Alder – SOLD

option 8

Spoon 17 of 52 – The Japanese Sushi Server in Juniper – SOLD

wpid-spoon-on-hands.jpg.jpeg

Spoon 18 of 52 – The Rain Drop Shaped Spoon in Spruce

IMG_8724

Spoon 19 of 52 – The Mushroom Shaped Spoon in Silver Birch – SOLD

Spoon 20 of 52 – The Wiggly One in Juniper – SOLD

Spoon 21 of 52 – The Coffee Paddle in Aspen – £10 + Postage – SOLD

wpid-imag7439_1.jpg

Spoon 22 of 52 – The Necklace Spoon in Pine – SOLD

Spoon 23 - The paella spoon in silver birch

Spoon 23 of 52 – The Paella Server in Silver Birch – SOLD

Week 24

Spoon 24 of 52 – The Kuksa Spoon in Silver Birch Burl – SOLD

IMG_9446

Spoon 25 of 52 – The Finnish Midsummer Spoon in Pine – SOLD

Spoon 26

Spoon 26 of 52 – The Estonian Midsummer Spoon in Silver Birch – SOLD

IMG_9684_2

Spoon 27 of 52 – The Ice Cream Scoop in Silver Birch – SOLD

IMAG7907

Spoon 28 of 52 – The Right Handed Wavy One in Grey Alder – SOLD

IMAG7942

Spoon 29 of 52 – The Soup Stirer in Silver Birch – SOLD

Spoon 30

Spoon 30 of 52 – The Hummus Serving Spoon in Lappish Pine – SOLD

Spoon 31

Spoon 31 of 52 – The Cinnamon Spoon in Finnish Juniper

DSC_0264

Spoon 32 of 52 – The Pick ‘n’ Mix Scoop in Applewood – SOLD

wpid-imag8167.jpg

Spoon 33 of 52 – The Double Ended Coffee and Cognac Mini Kuksa Spoon in Green Hazel – SOLD

wpid-wp-1442310828062.jpeg

Spoon 34 of 52 – The Egg and Spoon Race Spoon in Driftwood of Unknown Wood – SOLD

DSC_0266_B

Spoon 35 of 52 – The Salt Spoon in Yew – SOLD

DSC_0269

Spoon 36 of 52 – The Blini (Miniature Pancake) Flipper in Lappish Scot’s Pine – SOLD

DSC_0294

Spoon 37 of 52 – The Baby Spoon in Ash – SOLD

Spoons Together

Spoon 38 of 52 – The Curved Dessert Spoon in Cherry – SOLD

DSC_0284

Spoon 39 of 52 – The Clove Spoon in Oak – SOLD

IMG_8831

Spoon 40 of 52 – The Double Fungus Spoon in Oak – SOLD

IMG_8824

Spoon 41 of 52 – The Half Moon Pickled Onion Spoon in Oak – SOLD

IMG_8956

Spoon 42 of 52 – The Mini Ladle in Green Oak – SOLD

IMG_9063

Spoon 43 of 52 – The Table Spoon in Unknown Wood – SOLD

IMG_9091

Spoon 44 of 52 – The Two Scooped Spice Spoon in Walnut/Mahogany – SOLD

IMG_9102

Spoon 45 of 52 – The One Hour Spoon in Yew

IMG_9760

Spoon 46 of 52 – The Salt Spoon in Blackthorn – SOLD

IMG_9788

Spoon 47 of 52 – The Whale Spoon in Blackthorn – SOLD

DSC_3393

Spoon 48 of 52 – The Soup Spoon in Spalted Unknown Wood – SOLD

IMG_9756

Spoon 49 of 52 – The Double Ended Leaf-like Spoon in Oak – SOLD

IMG_9818

Spoon 50 of 52 – The Serving Spoon in Cherry – SOLD

IMG_9864

Spoon 51 of 52 – The Big Knobbed Little Scoop in Spruce – SOLD

IMG_9837

Spoon 52 of 52 – The Stirring Spoon from An Old Bench – SOLD

8 thoughts on “52 Spoons – Making a Spoon for Each Week of 2015 – Project Round up

  1. Hi Chris,

    John Hobbiss from Chorley Lancs here. My daughter, Anna, bought spoon No 23 for my birthday and it is now sitting happily on the top of my desk. I think that it can stay there as an ornament, rather than go to work as a paella server, which I see is what it was designed for.
    What an interesting project carving those 52 spoons must have been, making you an expert, not only in woodcarving, but also in the different types of wood and indeed in spoons themselves.

    All the best,

    John

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Becoming Fluent in Finnish – Dealing with Procrastination / Studying Wisely | Chris Mount

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.